

## مجلس رؤساء <mark>الطوائف المسيحية في بغـــــادـ</mark>

## **COUNCIL OF CHRISTIAN CHURCH-LEADERS IN BAGHDAD (CCCB)**

مكتب الامسين العسام Secretary مكتب الامسين العسام

Ref.:

العبدد :

Date:

Press Release

التاريخ:

Establishing

The Council of Christian Church-Leaders of Iraq

Through the initiative of the Heads of Churches in Iraq, a new council was established in the name of "The Council of Christian Church-Leaders of Iraq", which includes all of the patriarchs, archbishops, bishops, and heads of churches in Iraq, from the Catholic, Orthodox, Oriental and Protestant families, constituting 14 communities and comprised of 28 Dioceses.

The meeting to launch the Council was held in the monastery of St. Garabed of the Armenian Orthodox Church in Baghdad on Tuesday, February 9, 2010. Participating in this constituent assembly were His Beatitude Cardinal Emmanuel III Delly, the Chaldean Patriarch of Babylon. and His Beatitude Mar Adai II, Patriarch of the Ancient Church of the East, with all the archbishops, bishops and heads of churches in Baghdad, and the archbishops and bishops from the northern region, representing their parishes or authorized by fellow bishops of other dioceses.

The aim of the new Council is "to unite the opinion, position and decision of the Churches in Iraq on issues," related to the Churches and the State, for the "upholding and strengthening the Christian presence, promoting cooperation and joint action without interfering in private matters of the churches or their related entities," as stated in Article III of the of the bylaws of the Council.

The bylaws were the subject of previous meetings, deliberations and extensive studies by the heads of churches, the bishops and concerned dioceses, together with lay experts in legal matters. The revised draft of the bylaws was discussed during the launching meeting, and necessary amendments were made before officially founding the Council.

The Council will be involved in activating dialogue and ecumenical initiatives among member churches, as well as with churches and heads of churches around the world. It will activate dialogue and relations with our Muslim brothers and sisters and promote the acceptance of the other. It will attend to the issue of Christian education, and the renewing of religious curriculum in public schools in coordination with concerned governmental institutions. It will work toward making a civil status law for Christians in Iraq, and will promote the participation of Christians in public life based on the rights of citizenship and partnership in building the nation, as a tent and a house for all.

The Council is composed of a general assembly which includes all constituent Church Leaders, and a secretariat consisting of 6 persons. These executives are: the General Secretary and his assistant for the northern region, Media Manager, a rapporteur, a secretary to the General Secretary, and a treasurer. The General Secretariat will be based in Baghdad.

The election of the General Secretary was accomplished by secret ballot for a first term of three years, renewable one time only. HE Avak Asadourian, Ph.D., the Archbishop of the Armenian Orthodox Church in Iraq was unanimously elected General Secretary, and HE Basilius Guirgis al-Qass Moussa,

P.O.Box: 2280, Jadriyah, Baghdad - Iraq Mobile: (out of Iraq): +964 - 7803 702 145

(inside Iraq ): 07803 702 145

ص.ب : ۲۲۸۰ الجادرية ، بغداد - العراق النقال : من خرج العراق ۱<mark>۵۵ ۲۷۲ ۷۸۰۳ - ۹۱</mark>۶

من داخيل العراق <mark>٧٨٠٣ ٧٠٢ ١٤٥</mark>

E-mail: ccclbiq@yahoo.com

the Archbishop of Mosul for the Syrian Catholic Church, and the rapporteur of the council of bishops of Nineveh, was elected assistant General Secretary.

The churches included by the "The Council of Christian Church-Leaders of Iraq" are those Christian churches recognized by the Iraqi State, as contained in the Official Gazette "al-Waqa'e' al-Iraqiyeh" in its issue no. 2867, dated January 18, 1982:

- 1. The Chaldean Community (the Chaldean Church)
- 2. The Assyrian Community (the Ancient Church of the East)
- 3. The Assyrian Catholicosate Community (the Assyrian Church of the East)
- 4. The Syrian Orthodox Community (the Syrian Orthodox Church)
- 5. The Syrian Catholic Community (the Syrian Catholic Church)
- 6. The Armenian Orthodox Community (the Armenian Orthodox Church)
- 7. The Armenian Catholic Community (the Armenian Catholic Church)
- 8. The Greek Orthodox Community (the Greek Orthodox Church)
- 9. The Greek Catholic Community (the Greek Catholic Church)
- 10. The Roman Catholic Community (the Latin Church)
- 11. The National Evangelical Protestant Community (the Presbyterian Church)
- 12. The Evangelical Protestant Assyrian Community
- 13. The Seventh Day Adventist Community (Adventist)
- 14. The Coptic Orthodox Community (the Coptic Orthodox Church)

We implore the Creator to bestow His grace and blessings on the new council, asking our faithful to keep us in their prayers.



The General Secretariat 10 February 2010